“A cheerful heart is good medicine…” Proverbs- 17:22

“Overly serious but working on it.” Oh no, that’s not me! I just read how someone has described herself in her Bio. It made me wonder how someone could be so serious that to laugh and lighten up… get a bit of humor…was something they had to “work on.”

I wouldn’t be able to go through the day without laughter. There is always something that brings it on. A memory, a fumble or silly mistake with hilarious results, a joke, a sight or sound, a conversation… alone or with people, there are so many reasons why I laugh. I am amused by many things. I’m not talking about making fun of someone or ridiculing someone or something… not that kind of laughter. I’m speaking about a pure sense of humor. I even laugh at myself! I do some really funny, silly things and I enjoy a good laugh after.

Laughter gives us distance. It allows us to step back from an event, deal with it and then move on.

~Bob Newhart

A person who knows how to laugh at himself will never cease to be amused.

~Shirley Maclaine

Here’s a post that is tinged with humor. I wrote it at a time when I was dealing with too may things and feeling low. I saw a picture of a pigeon sitting on the head of some noble person’s statue and it made me laugh. And the lesson came to me through this. Read here: https://wordpress.com/post/theopenwindowweb.wordpress.com/2233